Me and My Ball Ache

This is a story that I want to tell, about my “problem”. I want all guys to know that it does happen and it’s ok to talk about it. 

It’s not the time to be alone, or worse, silent. 

2 months ago, I started to get an ache in my “balls” region. It felt like I strained something or that one of the kids had kicked me in the scrote, again :-). I thought nothing of it at first, until after a few days the ache was still there. 

Thankfully,  I’ve learned from my father that it’s ok to talk about these things, and to get them checked out straight away, even if you’re unsure or worried. Best not to mess around. So I went to see the GP. 

They said, “Probably a strain. Come back in a week if it’s the same.”

3 weeks went by. I couldn’t stand the worry any longer. Went back to GP. 

This time, they had a feel around, which I was glad about. Not in a weird way 😉

You see, I check my balls as regularly as I can. I say that because sometimes I don’t want to check, in case there is something there. But you have to check (http://patient.info/health/get-to-know-your-testicles-testes). 

Back to the GP. They said they could feel something where you would expect to find something called Epididymal Cysts. They said its quite common and something they don’t tend to operate on, so they booked me in for an ultrasound just to be sure. I said goodbye and as I was leaving, the GP said “worry not”, which really helped my mental state. I think for any of us guys, it’s tough in this kind of situation and place. 

Patient.co.uk states….

An epididymal cyst is a fluid-filled sac which grows at the top end of the testicle. It is benign (ie not caused by cancer). Some men get only one; others get several on both testicles. Rarely, they can be associated with illnesses that cause cysts in other parts of the body. Small cysts do not need treatment. Larger ones can be removed by a surgeon, especially if painful. Drainage using a needle (aspiration) is another option but is not done very often.

See here for more info…

Fast forward 6 weeks, I was sitting outside in the ultrasound reception area. 

Note: it took 6 weeks as it was not a priority due to GP knowing there was a massively high probability that is was Epididymal Cysts. 

In the reception area, it finally hit me. After spending many weeks of blocking it out and being in denial, I was met with the ultimate scenario of the realisation  that it could be bad news. My wife was with me. God only knows what would’ve happened if she wasn’t. 


I was called in. A doctor was doing the scan. Worry factor doubled!

I was asked to drop my trousers, and lie down on the bed. Then came the jelly-on-balls bit. Nice? Not really. Hospitals and lubrication? Nah 🙂

The doctor put the scanner on my balls and started to have a look. I was kinda worried about the amount of pressure he would be prodding my 2 pals with, but it was very light, which I was glad about. I’m quite sensitive and a bit of a wuss!

The doctor asked me, “Are you in any pain or discomfort?”

This was probably due to the fact I was breathing heavily due to the vast amounts of adrenaline in my system and avoiding using my reflexes. 

I responded with, “Nah, I’m just withholding the urge to swipe you away! Having short and fast kids gives you lightening fast protective instincts.”

Am I right?

Seriously, it must have been less than 2 minutes. 

“You have 1 on each side. Cysts. Nothing clinical. Just book an appointment with your GP, nothing to worry about”. 

I was kind of relieved. Not totally. I’ve still got to go and see the the GP, but it wasn’t bad news, which was good.

What happens next, I’ll let you know. 

But for now, I wanted to tell this story to help other guys know that it is ok to talk about these things to doctors. To friends.  To ask what you should be doing. Allow your self to be encouraged to get things checked and encourage others if they reach out. It may turn out that they’ve had similar issues. I’m starting to discover people I know have the same thing as me!

Peace out brothers. And keep checking 😉

Leave a Reply

